Ketamine is not a controlled drug under the Narcotics Control Commission Act 2020 (Act 1019): it is not named in the Fifth, Sixth or Seventh Schedule or the Eighth Schedule of precursors. The search, in English, for ketamine, Ketalar and cyclohexanone returned no entry, and the nearest text read and rejected was Fifth Schedule Z, «Methoxetamine( MXE )», as printed, and Seventh Schedule Part 2 items 12 to 15, none of which is ketamine. It is not on the Green List 2024, which carries the related 2-fluorodeschloroketamine but not ketamine. The Food and Drugs Authority's Guidelines for the Sale, Supply and Use of Controlled Substances, issued under section 126 of the Public Health Act 2012 (Act 851), do not print it in their tables. Act 1019 says «"narcotic drug" includes any substance specified in the Fifth, Sixth, and Seventh Schedules», so its list is not stated to be closed, and no instrument or decision treating ketamine as a narcotic drug was found. This is stated as the Schedules stand after the Narcotics Control Commission (Amendment) Act, 2023 (Act 1100), which the judy.legal consolidation records as the Act's only amendment and whose Bill substitutes section 43 alone; the enacted text of Act 1100 was not itself read. The power to move the lists is in section 112: its subsection (1) gave a power to revise the Sixth, Seventh and Eighth Schedules within twelve months of commencement, and its subsection (2)(b) gives a continuing power to make Regulations specifying «the classification of drugs and the appropriate penalties». The only Regulations found under the Act, L.I. 2475 of 2023 on cannabis cultivation, revise no Schedule on their table of contents, and this does not rule out a later instrument that was not found.
Narcotics Control Commission Act, 2020 (Act 1019), official parliamentary text, read at https://repository.parliament.gh/bitstreams/2ae84af6-4f3f-49e5-aae1-b340fe350cb8/download on 3 October 2026, Fifth to Eighth Schedules, definition of narcotic drug, section 112 · Narcotics Control Commission (Amendment) Bill, 2023, https://repository.parliament.gh/server/api/core/bitstreams/bddf7867-d1e8-4c0c-a44d-bc984aa53ec8/content · consolidation note «Amended by Narcotics Control Commission (Amendment) Act, 2023 (Act 1100 of 2023)», https://www.judy.legal/legislation/akn/gh/act/2020/1019 · Narcotics Control Commission (Cultivation and Management of Cannabis) Regulations, 2023 (L.I. 2475), https://www.judy.legal/legislation/akn/gh/act/li/2023/2475 · Food and Drugs Authority, Guidelines for the Sale, Supply and Use of Controlled Substances, FDA/DRI/TSA/GL-SSCS/2020/07, version 01, effective 1 January 2021, read at https://fdaghana.gov.gh/final-guidelines-for-the-sale-supply-and-use-of-controlled-drugs-4 on 3 October 2026, sections 2 and 3.1 and appendix 9 · Public Health Act 2012 (Act 851), read at https://www.moh.gov.gh/wp-content/uploads/2016/02/Public-Health-Act-851.pdf on 3 October 2026, sections 118, 122, 126 and 129 · INCB Green List, 35th edition 2024, read at https://www.incb.org/documents/Psychotropics/forms/greenlist/2025/2412193E.pdf on 3 October 2026 · Verified October 3, 2026
PCP is a controlled substance for medical supply in Ghana, reached through the guideline's definition, and it is not named in the Fifth, Sixth or Seventh Schedule of the Narcotics Control Commission Act 2020 (Act 1019) as read on 3 October 2026. The Food and Drugs Authority's Guidelines for the Sale, Supply and Use of Controlled Substances (FDA/DRI/TSA/GL-SSCS/2020/07, version 01, adopted 8 December 2020, effective 1 January 2021), issued «In pursuance of Section 126 of the Public Health Act, 2012 (ACT 851)», define «"Controlled Substances" or "Controlled drug"» as «a Narcotic drug, Psychotropic substance or Precursor chemical» and a psychotropic substance as «those natural or synthetic substances or any natural material listed in the four Schedules of the 1971 Convention». Section 148(1) of Act 851 says persons in the food and drugs industry «shall comply with the guidelines and codes of practice». The guideline's own tables do not name phencyclidine, and its appendix says its list «includes but not limited to» the Green List. The Green List, 36th edition 2025, carries it in Schedule II as PP 005, «PHENCYCLIDINE PCP 1-(1-phenylcyclohexyl)piperidine», and the same edition's article 13 table records Iceland's import prohibition of «Phencyclidine» notified on «28 November 1979», in a table the Green List describes as notifications concerning «specific substances in Schedules II, III and IV of the 1971 Convention», so PCP was listed long before the guideline was adopted. The earlier cell relied on Seventh Schedule Part 2 item 21, which is printed «1-[ 1-(Phenylmethyl)cyc1ohexyl] piperidine and any salt thereof». That is the benzyl analogue: phenylmethyl is a benzyl group, so item 21 carries one carbon more than phencyclidine and is neither PCP nor an isomer of it, and that sentence is withdrawn on the text of the entry. The neighbouring arylcyclohexylamine entries were read and are other substances: item 12 «N-( l-phenylcyclohexyl)ethylamine (PCE)», item 13 «1-[l-(2-Thienyl) cyclohexyljpiperidine (TCP)», item 14 «l-Phenyl-N-propylcyc1ohexanamine», item 15 «Rolicyc1idine (l-(l-phenylcyc1ohexyl) pyrrolidine)» and item 22 «1-[1-(4-Methylphenyl) cyc1ohexyl]piperidine», each as printed. None is an isomer, ester, ether or salt of PCP. Fifth Schedule C names «Phenylpiperidines, their intermediates, salts, derivatives and analogues», and its listed members, beginning with «Allylprodine», are 4-phenylpiperidine opioids and their intermediates; PCP carries its phenyl ring on the cyclohexane ring and not on the piperidine, so on its printed chemical name it is not a phenylpiperidine. Whether the undefined «analogues» limb of item C stretches to an arylcyclohexylamine is a question of construction that no text read answers, and no instrument or decision applying item C to PCP was found. Act 1019 says «"narcotic drug" includes any substance specified in the Fifth, Sixth, and Seventh Schedules», so its list is not stated to be closed, and no instrument or decision treating PCP as a narcotic drug was found. This is stated as the Schedules stand after the Narcotics Control Commission (Amendment) Act, 2023 (Act 1100), which the judy.legal consolidation read on 3 October 2026 records as the Act's only amendment, «Amended by Narcotics Control Commission (Amendment) Act, 2023 (Act 1100 of 2023) on 2 August 2023». The Bill for that Act, read the same day, is «composed of a single clause» and was introduced «to substitute section 43»; the enacted text of Act 1100 was not itself read. The power to move the lists is in section 112: its subsection (1) gave a power to revise the Sixth, Seventh and Eighth Schedules within twelve months of commencement, and its subsection (2)(b) gives a continuing power to make Regulations specifying «the classification of drugs and the appropriate penalties». The only Regulations found under the Act, L.I. 2475 of 2023 on cannabis cultivation, list ninety six regulations and five Schedules of their own on the table of contents read on 3 October 2026 and revise no Schedule of the Act, and this does not rule out a later instrument that was not found.
Narcotics Control Commission Act, 2020 (Act 1019), official parliamentary text, read at https://repository.parliament.gh/server/api/core/bitstreams/2ae84af6-4f3f-49e5-aae1-b340fe350cb8/content on 3 October 2026, Seventh Schedule Part 2 items 12 to 15, 21 and 22, Fifth, Sixth and Seventh Schedules searched, definition of narcotic drug, section 112 · Public Health Act 2012 (Act 851), read at https://www.moh.gov.gh/wp-content/uploads/2016/02/Public-Health-Act-851.pdf on 3 October 2026, sections 113, 118, 122, 123, 126, 129 and 148 · Food and Drugs Authority, Guidelines for the Sale, Supply and Use of Controlled Substances, FDA/DRI/TSA/GL-SSCS/2020/07, read at https://fdaghana.gov.gh/final-guidelines-for-the-sale-supply-and-use-of-controlled-drugs-4 on 3 October 2026, sections 1, 2, 3.1, 5 and appendix 9.2 · INCB Green List, 36th edition 2025, read at https://www.incb.org/incb/uploads/documents/Psychotropics/forms/greenlist/2026/2510307E.pdf on 3 October 2026 · Narcotics Control Commission (Amendment) Bill, 2023, https://repository.parliament.gh/server/api/core/bitstreams/bddf7867-d1e8-4c0c-a44d-bc984aa53ec8/content · consolidation note, https://www.judy.legal/legislation/akn/gh/act/2020/1019 · L.I. 2475 table of contents, https://www.judy.legal/legislation/akn/gh/act/li/2023/2475 · Verified October 3, 2026